Fitness Platoon Week 33

Monday February 9, 2009
4.5 mile run
2 minutes of crunches
1 minute of crunches
30 seconds of crunches

Wednesday February 11, 2009
3 mile run
Deck 3— PHASE 2, Lower Body Workout: Link

Friday February 13, 2009
1.5 mile run
Deck 2— PHASE 2, Upper Body Workout: Link

This is the new format for the Fitness Platoon posts. I think this makes it a little easier to follow along, even if it’s a week behind what we actually do. As you can see we try to work each muscle group hard once a week. Right now, we’re doing one long run, one medium run, and one short run. In general, this is the format we keep to. When the weather gets warmer we’ll do speed work and interval training on the lower body day. Occasionally, we also throw in an easy week or a sports day if we’ve been going at it hard for several weeks at a time.

This is how the poolees in Harrisonburg, Virginia are getting ready for Marine Corps boot camp. So far it’s been working well. Everyone who has spent at least a month in the program has passed the initial strength test in boot camp. Taylor got his pull-ups from 12 to 22 before he left for Parris Island. Many other poolees are seeing their pull-up numbers about double since starting.

Personally, it’s been good for my health as well. I wasn’t in the best shape when I started. I’ve dropped 20 lbs (back down to my Marine Corps weight when I was 23) and have gotten into halfway decent running shape again. My best run time on the IST is 10:18 but I’m hoping to get that down under 10 minutes when it gets warmer. I can get over 100 crunches in two minutes and have gotten my pull-ups up to 26. Since I’m 36 now, I’m quite happy with the results so far.

3 thoughts on “Fitness Platoon Week 33

  1. I think what you are doing is great for the poolees. I myself hope to be a US Marine. I’ve been in a NJROTC unit for 3 (almost 4) years. I’m in the Central Crossing High School JROTC and we have our website. We drill by the Marine Corps Order and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’m fairly physically fit, for 17 year olds. What you guys do is a great inspiration to me, and I thank you all for it, not just the one who posts this. You also have some very inspirational artwork and I share the love for art.
    Again, Thank you
    Keep up the hard work,
    remember the enemy is training as you are training,
    you train hard to kill him, and he trains hard to kill you,
    so the day that you want to take a break and not do what you’re supposed to,
    think to yourself,
    is my enemy doing the same?

    Like

  2. Hi Matt,

    Thanks for the kind words. Keep up with the fitness. It looks like you’re creating good habits for yourself.

    If you like art, you should post your work on drawingboard.org. I post there from time to time and interact with a lot of fellow artists. My screen name there is Jarhead1.

    Like

  3. thank you and ill check it out sometime, and yeah i try to make good habits all the time, and having had the chance to go to Paris Island before hand i know me being semi fit isn’t going to cut it when i join.
    My personal best for pushups is 90 at once situps 110 at once (in 2 minutes) pullups 13 and the only timed 5k ive ran was like 21 30 in boots and utes, that was 3 years ago though, since then i can get 1.5 miles with a 20 lb vest in 10 flat, and cant recall my 3 or 4 mi times for some reason lol

    Like

Leave a comment